Andy Marzich (1962)

(1935-2010)

Bowling Hall of Fame, 1992

All-American, 1962-63

3 ABC championships (1960-D, 1964-CT, 1966-CT)

6 PBA titles

5 Responses to “Andy Marzich (1962)”

  1. BOBBY MARTIN Says:

    I LOST MY HERO THIS WEEK, GOD BLESS ANDY, I LOVED HIM, HE TOOK ME OFF THE STREETS AND PUT ME IN THE BOWLING BUSINESS AT 10 YEARS OLD. MY SECOND DADDY! SO LONG FOR NOW BOBBY MARTIN, ATLANTA GA,

  2. Jack McGinity Says:

    Andy and I were in the same platoon during Basic Training at Fort Ord CA in 1953. We bowled one day, and he beat me easily. He was undoubtedly taking it easy on me, and I had no idea how good a bowler he actually was. Andy was a class act, and will be greatly missed.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      I never met Andy Marzich in person, but I did have contact with him. In 1991 I wrote a Bowlers Journal article about 10 neglected people who should be in the ABC Hall of Fame. Andy was one of them. When he was elected the next year, he sent me a note to thank me for helping him get elected. He didn’t have to do that–and I’ve always appreciated his gesture.
      –JRS

  3. Ellen Buljeta Says:

    Was my Dad’s (Hugo Buljeta) cousin. As kids, we enjoyed watching him on tv.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      The few times I talked to him on the phone, he impressed me as a bright, friendly guy. And of course, a helluva bowler.
      –JRS

Leave a comment