Archive for June, 2016

Herff Jones Company (1951)

June 29, 2016

Herff Jones Company (1951)

Edwardina “Eddie” Coy (1932)

June 27, 2016

Coy, Edwardina (1932)


Detroit Bowling Star

Pioneer Female Proprietor

Ed Lubanski for Spare-Time Bowling Game (1962)

June 26, 2016

Lubanski for Spare-Time Bowling Game (1962)

Fred Worden (1903)

June 24, 2016

Worden - Copy


Chicago Bowling Star

World Classic Tournament 1922

June 22, 2016

This tournament, the first national individual match-game event, was created by Louis Petersen in 1922.  The purpose was to determine an official match-game champion.  An invited field of 24 bowlers rolled 115 games on four specially-built lanes in the Chicago Coliseum.  The tournament winner was decided on the basis of Petersen Points.  But to be recognized as the match-game champion, the tournament winner would then have to defeat the 2nd-, 3rd-, and 4th-place finishers in separate 60 game matches.  If he lost any of these matches, the title would remain vacant.  After winning the Classic, Blouin later defeated Wolf, Lindsey, and Smith to gain recognition as the first official match-game champion.




Pitch’s Lounge—Milwaukee (1964)

June 20, 2016
(L-R)---Evelyn Goosens, Caroline Rudolph, Joan Holderness, Jane Leszczynski, Ellie Konicek, Jeanette Bopp

(L-R)—Evelyn Goosens, Caroline Rudolph, Joan Holderness, Jane Leszczynski, Ellie Konicek, Jeanette Bopp

Thunderbowl Lanes—Allen Park, MI

June 19, 2016


4200 Allen Rd. 



Don Carter and Tom Hennessey for Celebrity Club (1959)

June 17, 2016

Celebrity Club (1959)

Masters Tournament 1968

June 15, 2016

The eighteenth ABC Masters was held at the Cincinnati Convention Center, April 20-24, 1968, with a field of 480 bowlers.  The final showdown was billed “The Battle of the Ages,” pitting 60-year-old tournament leader Buzz Fazio against 29-year-old losers bracket survivor Pete Tountas.  First Tountas defeated Fazio, 882-821, to force another match.  Then, in the second match, Tountas won the championship in a final-frame thriller, 847-843.

Masters 1968 


Harold Asplund (1952)

June 13, 2016

Asplund, Harold (1953)


Bowling Hall of Fame, 1978