Markay Recreation

Markay Recreation

7221 N. Western Ave.

 

6 Responses to “Markay Recreation”

  1. bonita ward Says:

    Can someone please tell me the name of the bowling alley that was located around 17th Avenue and North Avenue. This bowling alley had an escalator that took you down to the lanes. The last time i bowled there was around 1995.
    Thanks,

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Bonita–
      I’d guess it was either Riviera Lanes or Super Bowl. Does anyone out there know for sure?
      –JRS

  2. Jack J Billy Says:

    Paradise Bowl was around there too.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      I remember both Sunset Bowl and Theater Bowl on Western Avenue near Markay. Paradise Bowl is a new one on me.
      –JRS

  3. D.Zeno Says:

    I think it was Majors. Was nest to Millionares Club in Winston Park Shopping Center. Basement was Bowling Alley.

  4. Steven Says:

    I bowled the best game of my life at that basement alley on North & 17th. And I bowled my very first game at the age of 6 at Markay with one of those real small balls and pinboys too. I bowled a 66 with no instruction and I tried to emulate Bill Lillard who I often saw on TV in the early & middle 50’s. And all of a sudden one day – they started construction across the street for a new alley – Sunset Bowl with purple gutters and underground ball returns. Very futuristic!

Leave a Reply

