Kraft Bowl

Kraft Bowl

4720 W. Fullerton Ave.

16 Responses to “Kraft Bowl”

  1. John H Says:

    I bowled at Kraft in the late 1950s when I was about 13 years old. My brother was a pin boy but they switched to automatic lanes before I was old enough to set pins. I remember the owner was a nice guy.

  2. frank mrozek Says:

    I bowled there in the mid 1970’s in a wednesday evening mens league with my uncle Leroy Klesen who still lives in the neighborhood. I think it was a Automatic Electric company league.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      After Karlov and Kraft, I wish I had a picture of the other bowling alley in the neighborhood, Cragin Bowl on Armitage near Cicero. I believe they made it into a banquet hall.
      –JRS

  3. sue smith Says:

    My sister and I both met our husbands at Kraft Bowl. Her in early 70’s me in early 80’s.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Now that so many Chicago bowling alleys have closed, what will the newer generations do for romance?
      –JRS

  4. Lorel S Says:

    My parents bowled at Kraft in the St Paul Church League on Saturday nights for many years 1950’s into 1970’s I was there quite a few of those Saturdays and learned to bowl there

  5. Wayne Anderson Says:

    I first started bowling there in 1962. Rudy Kraft was the owner and specks took care of the lanes

  6. Dae Baker Says:

    I used to bowl there with the Boy scouts !

  7. Dave Baker Says:

    Lorel St Paul Church on Homer ?

  8. wayne anderson Says:

    Monk use to clean up the place and when we were kids we use to bowl there all hours of the night when Monk worked because he didn’t kick us out and we didn’t play for any games we bowled. Those were the days.

  9. Tom Tonnesen Says:

    In 7th and 8th grade (1962-64), bowled in a St. Gen’s after-school league at Kraft Bowl. The cost was $1.00, including three games, rental shoes, and a glass of pop. I had to beg my mom for that $1.00 every week.

Leave a Reply

