Cermak Bowl

Cermak Bowl

2645 W. Cermak Rd.

13 Responses to “Cermak Bowl”

  1. Doug Cooper Says:

    Whose Plymouth Duster is parked in front of the “alley” in so many of these photos? Could it be Dr. Jake’s?

  2. jay g Says:

    When I was a kid we lived almost directly across the street from Cermak bowl,though I was never in the building.

    Here is a photo of Cermak Bowl sometimes in the 50’s
    1954-A0300+2595

    There was another rather small bowling alley across the street at 2624-2626 Cermak Road. It was right next door to the Marshall Square Boy’s Club.
    There is a Chicago Tribune article dated July 20th 1969, about the residents seeking to demolish the building which was gutted by a fire. The article fails to identify the name of the alley. However the building still stands and is used as a Mission.
    .

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Jay–
      Thanks for the picture! As for the rest, the small place on the north side of Cermak Road was Steinbrecher Recreation. When William Steinbrecher died in 1966, the bowling press reported that he’d been a proprietor for fifty years. I have a picture of him, but not of the bowling alley.
      –JRS

      • Ed Dome Says:

        Steinbrecher then became Tower Bowl. I lived next to the Boys Club. Tower mysteriously caught fire and never reopened. I moved out in the mid-60’s so don’t know what became of the building. I also worked at Cermak bowl as a teen.

      • jay g Says:

        If you access the Tribune archives online (Through Pro Quest via your public library), there is a picture of the Steinbrecher bowling alley accompanying the Chicago Tribune article dated July 20th 1969

    • Ted Steinbreche Says:

      My family owned Steinbrecher Recreation until 1960. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the establishment. I’d be very appreciative of anyone who could share pics of memories. Thanks very much…Ted Steinbrecher

  3. jay g Says:

    I didn’t mean to imply that is my picture. The photographer had a nice collection of pictures of my old neighborhood. I wish I had the forethought to photo my old haunts.

  4. Starlea Grisham Says:

    Does anyone know what happened to Cermak Bowl? I spent a lot of time there in the late 60’s and early 70’s, I lived on 21st place between Washtenaw and Rockwell, I loved that place, it was one of my Safe Havens.

    • jay g Says:

      Don’t know when Cermak Bowl closed. If you click on the link above there is a Flickr account owned by Joe+Jeanette Archie that has photos of your neighborhood from the 1950’s on up.

  5. Ed Dome Says:

    I thought Cermak Bowl, much like Tower/Steinbrecher’s, also burned down. Long time ago but I can’t estimate the year.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Bowling alley fires were very common in the old days. Check out the videos from the 1954 “Championship Bowling” TV show on YouTube. The series was filmed at Faetz-Niesen in Chicago. The house had pinboys then, and ever so often, you’ll catch a glimpse of a pinboy with a cigarette in his mouth. I wonder what the insurance companies said about that?
      –JRS

    • jay g Says:

      Maybe you are thinking of Major Recreation which did burn down either in the late 70s or early 80s. That was on Cermak just west of Marshall Boulevard.

Leave a Reply

