Lee Jouglard (1955)

Jouglard, Lee (1955)

(1921-1978)

Bowling Hall of Fame, 1979

#84 Bowler of the 20th Century

All American, 1950-51

Bowler of the Year, 1950-51

Masters champion, 1951

1 ABC championship (1951-S)

9 Responses to “Lee Jouglard (1955)”

  1. lee Says:

    That’s my dad

  2. Rick Eaton Says:

    Lived down the street from him, and Lee jr.

  3. Mildred Hill Myers Says:

    Met him two weeks before he was chosen “Bowler of the Year”. He bowled an exposition at Linden Lanes in Cols. OH. He and my brother became close friends. Wondering what caused his death so young? Accident or failing health?

  4. Mildred Hill Myers Says:

    Thanks J,R, Schmidt. We subscribed to the Bowlers Journal, but only into the 50’s and 60’s. Sorry to hear he had cancer. For 10 years after meeting Lee in 1951 he would visit my brother and stay at his house whenever in Ohio. My brother had a cabinet shop and built Lee the first trophy cabinet he owned. 10 years later when Lee was leaving Detroit and building a new home in Calif. he needed an entire room for trophy’s. Great bowler and great person.

  5. Bill Says:

    Back in the 50s, there was a bowling show on TV on Saturday Afternoons. My memory of Lee is from this show. It was a 3-game match as I recall, but it also had a section where people tried to pick up spares for prizes. Lee was the MC of that segment. In addition, there were some shows where Lee gave bowling lessons. I don’t remember ever seeing him in a match, but I remember his segments on this show. He always seemed to me to be a very, very fine person.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      I interviewed Ed Lubanski years ago, and he said a lot of fine things about Jouglard. The show you’re talking about sounds like Bowling Time, a nationally-syndicated program filmed in Cleveland, with Sam Levine.
      –JRS

  6. Casey engan Says:

    This is Casey Engan ( son of Ralph Engan). I just watched my father and Lee Jouglard bowl a match on the American League of bowling. It was a blessing that my sister could find it. I was wondering if Mr Jouglard has any kids or family that would like a copy. You can email me at caseyengan16@gmail.com. Thank you so much for your time. God bless.

Leave a Reply

