Lambert’s Bowling Lanes

Lambert's Lanes

6314 N. Broadway

19 Responses to “Lambert’s Bowling Lanes”

  1. Kevin B Sheehy Says:

    What happened to lamberts bowl?My last memory of it is it was run by two brothers. It was a great joint in a great location,can you fill in the blanks?

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Lambert’s has been out of business for years now. I don’t know how long it’s been gone, but the picture dates from 1976. I took pictures of close to 100 Chicago bowling alleys in the mid-1970s. Fewer than 20 of them are still operating.
      –JRS

    • Jim Wynne Says:

      At the time when I first started bowling at Lambert’s (~1972) it was owned by Ted Lambert, Sr. and being run by his sons Ted Jr. and Keith. I don’t know when it closed, but I think it was sometime in the 1980s. If you look at that address on Google Maps’ Streetview, you can see that the building is still there, being used by another business, and that big thing that looks like a sign frame on the adjoining roof is still there, as is the veterinarian’s office next door. Thanks to Mr. Schmidt for the photo.

      • J.R. Schmidt Says:

        I bowled out of Lambert’s in 1968, my first year in the North End Traveling League. We didn’t have much of a team, but Mr. Lambert really splurged on our shirts–they were as nice as the shirts for Knoll’s Hamms, Mangini, or any of the top teams. I wish I still had mine!
        –JRS

  2. Mike Adriansen Says:

    I worked on the machines there with Ed Geffert in the late 60’s. Great memories of a very good boss. We went in once a week (Friday morning )for routine scheduled maintenance on the old Brunswick pinsetters. I was young, and didn’t drive so he picked me up at Empire and we rode over together. One of the great big belts that drove the pin pickup almost sliced my right index finger off so that was the end of my apprenticeship with Ed as a pinsetter mechanic. Still great memories. Mike Adriansen

  3. Jennifer Says:

    The bowling alley was my granfathers i wasn’t born yet

  4. Debbie Lambert Says:

    i remember that bowling alley very good i was brought up in there .it was closed in 1983. my father Ted Lambert owned and operated the business I had a lot of good times in that place

  5. Keith Lambert Says:

    I once ran it with my brother Ted. It was sold in 1988.

  6. billy norton Says:

    Looking for anyone who might remember Chuck Grey, who led the North End Traveling League in ave. in late 60s or early 70s. At one time he was one of top hustlers in Chicago.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Billy–
      I bowled against Chuck Grey in the North End during the 1970-71 season, when he led the league in average–his 204 was a big number for a traveling league then. He bowled with Astor Development, the old Knoll’s Hamms Beer team. Chuck Grey took Chuck Wagner’s place, which is probably why they lost the previous sponsor. Teammates were Carl Carlson, George Chioles, Gil VanMeenen, and Rommie Graybeal. Fortunately, I never had the privilege of bowling Chuck for money.
      –JRS

  7. Ralph Says:

    Nice place!

  8. Phil Deli Says:

    I was a kid back in the 50’s curious about why they were taking the wall down behind Lambert Lanes. I lived across the alley so I watched the progress every day. Ted would see me their every day, we would talk, while they were installing the brand new AMF pinspotters. When the troubleshooter guy came, Ted asked if I would like to learn. We had a great friendship, and I worked league nights. A lot of pro bowlers knew Ted, and liked the small 8-lane, very well-kept alleys. He was always good to me and I loved him for that.

  9. Madeline Stevens Tucker Says:

    I hung out in Lamberts in the mid ’70s. I lived on Magnolia and would cut through a gangway to get there. Loved the place!

  10. Allan Says:

    Bowled here once, but forgot to mention it on that other post. Dumb me, I was forgetting the name of this place! Anyway, it was torn down in I believe sometime during the mid or late 1990s, and at a similar time frame to when several other buildings were torn down on the northeast corner of Granville and Broadway (i.e. Devon Theater). It was operational till sometime in the 1990s, but the Lambert’s exterior neon sign was already gone by then.

  11. Brian Says:

    As a former Loyola student, I can vouch for its existence up through spring of 1982. That’s when I moved out of Rogers Park. It was a nice place to bowl and hang out, because they tolerated college kids drinking at the bar after bowling a few games.

  12. NEAL TENHULZEN Says:

    Bowled there from 1975 to 1978 on the house team. Me, Ted ,Dave K, Walt H and Jack. Much fun, I remember many strawberry shooters during beer frames.

  13. Paul Says:

    I learned how to bowl at age 5 in Lamberts. Lived next door to Ceil Winandy!! Paul age 67.

  14. Tim O'Callaghan Says:

    Great small 8 lane Bowling alley…….A bar with bowling. The Lamberts ran it well…..Good times!!!

Leave a Reply

