Lawrence-Western Lanes

Lawrence-Western Lanes

2444 W. Lawrence Ave.

10 Responses to “Lawrence-Western Lanes”

  1. Alex Kabak Says:

    I remember bowling here as a kid in the late 60’s early 70’s. It wasn’t a fancy place but was sad to see it go.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      After the bowling lanes closed, the building was used as a UPS facility. I think that’s gone now, too.
      –JRS

  2. Jayne Says:

    Had my first date there. I lived on Leavitt right at the corner of Winnemac Park. Graduated Amundsen in ’73.

  3. Arnie Says:

    I used to play snooker there.

  4. Don Miller Says:

    When did this bowling alley first open? The big thing was the 20 lanes and the automatic pinspotter machines. Around the corner was and still is The Lincoln Square Lanes with 12 lanes. Either the bowling alley or the building has been there since 1918. Oldest bowling alley in Chicago, I hear.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Automatics came into bowling during the mid-1950s, but I don’t know if Lawrence-Western was in business before that. It’s not listed in any of my older sources. As for Lincoln Square, I’m told that the new owner is “modernizing” the place.
      –JRS

  5. Don Miller Says:

    THERE WAS A BOWLING ALLEY ON HOWARD ST. YOU WOULDN’T POSSIBLY KNOW THE NAME OF IT. I’M WRITING MY MEMOIR AND IT’S NAME SLIPS ME–THANKS

  6. Don Miller Says:

    You are GOOD, thanks

  7. Steven Cooper Says:

    I was in the Lawrence Western Lanes about 1953 or 54. They still had pinboys. There’s a 16mm bowling “short” film called BOWLING FAIR about girls & women bowling and I’m 99% sure it was filmed there. I have a little bit of that film on videotape but I lost my video list & can’t find the tape at the moment. It was shown on Chicago’s Channel 5 (NBC) about 1979 at 3:00 a.m. as “filler” after a movie and I recorded it.

Leave a Reply

