Joe Norris (1954)

Watch the foul line, Joe!

Watch the foul line, Joe!

(1908-2001)

Bowling Hall of Fame, 1954

#10 Bowler of the 20th Century

All-American, 1939-40, 1940-41, 1941-42, 1942-43, 1943-44, 1944-45, 1945-46, 1946-47

2 ABC championships (1934-T, 1954-T)

3 Responses to “Joe Norris (1954)”

  1. Bob Schumacher Says:

    Joe finished his career and life in the senior leagues at Sunset Bowl in San Diego, CA. Always sharp and mindful of his appearance, Joe presented himself as well as one could expect. I saw him bowl in the 50’s in Chicago, and we would talk each week when I came in to service amusement devices my brother and me owned.

    He still had game although he was in his mid 80’s I believe, and if I’m not mistaken rolled a 300 at age 86 or 88, or somewhere up there. One week I came in to collect my machines and Joe wasn’t there. He had died. How sad.

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      I got to know Joe when he was in his mid-80s. Very funny, and very sharp. My wife met him when he was 91. Later, when I asked her what she thought of Joe Norris, her reply was–“That’s what I want you to be like when you’re 91.”

  2. Bob Schumacher Says:

    Joe represented the game about as good as one can. He never had the spotlight of a Weber, Anthony, or Salvino, but people liked him and wanted to emulate him. How many lines you think he rolled in his life. Geez!

Leave a Reply

