Holiday Bowl

4747 N. Harlem Ave. (Harwood Heights)

13 Responses to “Holiday Bowl”

  1. Patrick Says:

    Bowled here many times – always open bowl and kept up very nicely – it was HUGE !!! Years ago it was a Dance Ball Room – I was bowling there in the early 80’s

  2. J.R. Schmidt Says:

    I don’t recall Holiday being I dance hall, but I do remember the grand opening of the bowling lanes very well. Ned Day was featured, and he drew quite a crowd.
    –JRS

  3. Deb Says:

    I feel like I grew up here during the 70’s and 80’s – both my Dad and uncle bowled on the Friday night league. So many great memories – in fact that could be my uncle standing at the counter in the picture! I was so disappointed when I heard they were tearing it down.

  4. Tony Says:

    I just about lived there in my younger days. Does anyone remember what year it was torn down?

  5. Michael Soleksy Says:

    Lived in Harwood Hgts, spent many a night at the ally
    1960’s Mike Solesky

  6. Bobbi Says:

    anyone remember how many lanes there
    were? in holiday bowl?

    • J.R. Schmidt Says:

      Holiday Bowl had 64 lanes.
      –JRS

      • Ralph Says:

        Don’t forget JR, Holiday added some lanes after 1972 on the south side of the building at the east end. I bowled in a summer league there on those lanes. You can see the addition on the 1988 Historic Aerial photo. I don’t recall how lanes were added. I think maybe 10 lanes. I could never understand why they added on to the house with such a small amount of lanes.

      • Bobbi Says:

        Thank u…so wish my kids could bowl there, ah, the memories!!!!!

  7. mary Jo Says:

    How many lanes did it have? I thought it was about 100.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

